I can help you get the best possible results after an arrest.
The smartest thing you can do after a DUI arrest is contact a lawyer immediately. If you refuse a breathalyzer, you only have ten days following your arrest to challenge the suspension of your license. If you or your lawyer do not send the letter within ten days, your license will be suspended for one year and there is no way to challenge it.
I can help save your license. I can help deal with the prosecutors and try to have the charges dismissed or reduced. I can demand that the State produce all the evidence against you and tell you how best to challenge it in court. If you were searched or questioned illegally, I can file motions to have the evidence obtained against your Constitutional rights suppressed. Your first step toward helping your self is to get in touch with me. I can help.
There is nothing wrong with pleading Not Guilty.
No matter what happened, you are not guilty of anything unless and until the State of Georgia proves that you have broken the law. You may have defenses against a DUI charge that you don't know about until you talk to a lawyer.
If you are not sure what to do, how to plead, or the best way to deal with your case, it might be time to talk to a lawyer.
Your driver's license and the Breathalyzer
If you refuse to take the Breathalyzer test (usually done at the jail) and the police officer warns you that your license might be suspended, it is possible that the refusal could suspend your license for up to a year.
However, I can help you fight the suspension and save your license by sending a letter and fee to the Department of Drivers Services. This letter must be sent within 10 days of your arrest to be accepted, so it is vital to talk to a lawyer as soon as possible after your arrest.
A DUI conviction stays on your record forever.
If you are convicted of DUI, the conviction cannot be expunged from your record, it will not "age off" as time passes. It will appear every time a potential employer runs a check on your criminal history for the rest of your life. The consequences of having a DUI on your record can go far beyond what the court imposes, which makes it all the more important to talk to a lawyer and fight the charges against you.
A DUI conviction requires mandatory jail time.
For a first DUI conviction in any 10 year period, the minimum sentence in Georgia is 24 hours in jail, one year probation, and a $1,000 fine, as well as probation fees, community service, risk reduction school, and the suspension of your driver's license. For a second conviction in 10 years, the minimum sentence goes up to 3 days in jail, plus probation and the other conditions. For a third conviction in 10 years, the minimum jail sentence goes up 15 days. These sentences are only the minimum--the judge may sentence you to up to a year to serve, and if you violate the terms of your probation, you could end up going back to jail. DUI consequences are very serious, and you should talk to a lawyer and find out the best way to fight the charges.
A DUI conviction has other very serious consequences.
A DUI conviction will suspend your driver's license. If you are convicted of DUI, the conviction cannot be expunged from your record, it will not "age off" as time passes. It will appear every time a potential employer runs a check on your criminal history for the rest of your life. The consequences of having a DUI on your record can go far beyond what the court imposes, which makes it all the more important to talk to a lawyer and fight the charges against you.
Defend your rights. Protect your freedom. Talk to a lawyer.
To find out more about how a DUI
can affect you, read the FAQ section.
Law Offices of Adam J. Klein • 6 Concourse Parkway, Suite 2920 • Atlanta, GA 30328 • (678) 825-5529 • firstname.lastname@example.org